Alex + Allen’s Modern Rustic Wedding at Olivenhain Meeting Hall, 11*19*2011

Alex was referred to me by my old coworker Tanya.  She had worked alongside me for over a year back in my former life as a gala planner, and she now works in the same office as Alex.  It turned out that over half of the vendors involved in her modern rustic wedding (held in a building over 100 years old!) are connected to my alma mater (which also happens to be where Alex and Allen both work)!  Go Tritons!

Alex is gentle and graceful.  She moves softly, like a cat, but has a sparkling smile.  And she brought all her vendor contracts, plus a layout of the venue, to our initial meeting!  Mind you, there was only a month to go before the wedding, but I was super impressed!

Jason Almazan took some great photos of the day (especially in the challenging lighting conditions of the century-old meeting hall), including one of my favorite photos of any of my clients (which we’ll get to in a bit).  Organic Elements created the most amazing sculptural pieces from driftwood and flowers, and Classic Party Rentals provided the backbone – tables, chairs, linens, and lighting (I *heart* festival lights!).

I think after last week’s especially long-winded post, I’d rather let the photos of this elegant, modern rustic wedding speak for themselves…  So without (much) further chatter…  The pretty photos!!!

OMG – look at that SMILE!  And Alex made that brooch bouquet herself! 🙂

Alex and Allen wanted to incorporate seven traditions for marriage (from different cultures) into their wedding, so they drank wine together and smashed a glass, among other things.

And the bridesmaids surprised Alex by coming to the venue early the morning of the wedding to decorate the ceremony space with chalk!

 

Can I just pause for a second and say how much I adore these two?  And how absolutely the two of them together radiate love?  They are so open, so giving, and so generous.  I didn’t even meet Allen until the day of the wedding (they chose to go rehearsal-less), and by the end of the night he gave me a huge bear hug.  Just seeing these photos makes me so happy.

And this next photo?  This is one of my favorites.  Ever.  Of any of my couples.  I just adore the expression.  The pure happiness.  The couple who is so at ease with each other.  Bliss.

The ceremony was over – and now it was time to party!  This reception was pretty relaxed, since the venue won’t allow dancing on its antique floors.  But we did set up a DIY photo booth using my props.  Everyone enjoyed it!

A beautiful reception it was, too.  It’s an incredibly small venue, but Alex and Allen made great use of the space available, including the benches along the walls, for seating.  Each table was decorated with flower-dotted driftwood and battery-operated candles (open flames aren’t permitted inside the old structure either).

What a great group of guests this was – they didn’t mind not dancing one bit…  Instead, it felt like a party at someone’s house, with everyone talking and laughing until long after the official party “ended.”

One of my favorite things that Jason did was take photos of the vendors.  So instead of my usual vendor roundup, I present you with photographs!

Alex + Allen’s Modern Rustic Wedding at Olivenhain Meeting Hall, 11*19*2011 Vendor Details:

(not pictured; they only dropped off!)

One thought on “Alex + Allen’s Modern Rustic Wedding at Olivenhain Meeting Hall, 11*19*2011

  1. Pingback: Happy Anniversary Alex + Allen! | Events by Elisa

Leave a Reply

