Board Game Birthday!

First of all, yesterday was the official launch of EventsbyElisa.com and our Facebook page.  Thank you to everyone for your support!  I am so happy!

Secondly, I’ve been teasing you about this one for a while, and I’ve finally had a chance to write about it: the Board Game Birthday!

This party was incredibly fun to plan; we hosted a dozen friends at our home for dinner and dessert, and, of course, board games!  It was my husband’s 30-something birthday, but I wanted it to have a distinctly kidlike theme.  You’ll have to forgive the lack of photography skill; I’ve got a lot to learn about my camera!

Of course, we had a bare bones budget, so I had to get creative…

First of all was the decor.  These giant-sized Sorry pieces were hand made from Crayola Model Magic:

Hand made giant Sorry pieces

Hand made giant Sorry pieces

I got several bunches of flowers and put them in various vases around the house; this was my favorite of the containers, with colored dice in the bottom:

Flowers with dice

Flowers with dice

Then, of course, the dinner table.  I’d originally planned to use contact-paper-covered board games as serving plates, but couldn’t find enough game boards in our local thrift shops that measured up to my high standards!  Since our space is limited, we had kid-themed finger foods: sliders, pigs in blankets, mac and cheese balls, crab cakes, and “peas and carrots”.  Too cute!  Of course I completely forgot to take a photo of the whole table while the food was laid out:

Our Kiddie Food Table

Our Kiddie Food Table

The Scrabble board name tags for the food, made by photographing my Scrabble board:

Scrabble Board Food Tags

Scrabble Board Food Tags

Of course, you can’t have a birthday party without dessert!  A dessert bar, to be exact.  I love this mixture of old and new glass jars (mostly from local thrift stores), holding some of my husband’s favorite sweets!

A Sweet Table fit for a kid!

A Sweet Table fit for a kid!

Including a Candy Land game board pasted onto styrofoam, used as a cheesecake pop holder, and “Sweets” spelled out on a wooden Scrabble letter holder.  The food table said “Bites” and the Drinks table said “Sips”, but this was my favorite:

"Sweet" spelled out on a Scrabble letter holder and the Candy Land styrofoam cheesecake pop holder

"Sweet" spelled out on a Scrabble letter holder and the Candy Land styrofoam cheesecake pop holder

Last but not least, we had extra special goodie bags for our guests.  We used paper lunch sacks and printed Scrabble board labels on them.  Of course I forgot to take photos, but I found some fun mini Uno decks, tiny Etch-a-Sketches, and playing card erasers, among other fun goodies:

Goody Bag Table

Goody Bag Table

Leave a Reply

